Thursday, June 05, 2008

CFRB tours GENTLE JOURNEY, by Elaine Lyons Bach

Before I begin I want to make one thing clear. I am not, nor do I ever see me being a big fan of romance, and a historical romance, for me, only makes it worse. Having said that let me move on to some more positive notes.


GENTLE JOURNEY, by Elaine Lyons Bach is one of the best romances I've red, with the exception of a couple fantasy romances. Her characters are realistic, filled with flaws. Miss Eden Barret quits her nanny job to go work for a painter to learn something about his style. Her desire is to be an artist, among other things. It turns out the artist wants a house cleaner, not a protégé. She decides upon looking elsewhere for a position. This lands her a job as a nanny for Lord Colin Ashton, Seventh Earl of Edmund. He has a young, headstrong daughter, Diana, who is just the right medicine for her.


Working for Lord Edmund isn't without its problems. One of the greatest problems turns out to be Eden's faith in Jesus Christ. It seems that Lord Edmund doesn't want to hear anything about God, nor does he want Eden to fill his daughter's head with such nonsense. Eden, being who she is, gets permission to answer any questions that Diana might ask. There are external problems as well. One man feels Eden and Lord Edmund have wrongfully taken his sons. Just wait until you read about this chimney sweep and the two lads he called his and judge for yourself.


Little by little Eden and Lord Edmund are falling for each other, but even this comes with its own set of unique problems. I like the way that Elaine moves her story along, using her characters to do the work for her. It's refreshing and enjoyable, and for me to say that about a romance is high praise indeed. So if you like this kind of stuff, you will love GENTLE JOURNEY. If you're like me and romance isn't your cup of tea, then don't pick it up and start reading it. You may just find yourself liking it.











Tomorrow's tag team entry on the CFRB blog tour will be on CFRB's main blog
The tour started Sunday with Bibliophile's Retreat with a great interview.
On Monday it was time for Cathi's Chatter to weigh in.
TuesdayLaura Davis had an excellent review.
Susan M. Kirkland posted her perspsective of GENTLE JOURNEY on Wednesday.
Thursday, the baton was passed to Rebecca Wire, who also posted an interview today.
So today you have to put up with me! Sorry about that ;-)
Don't miss out on a humorous but amazingly accurate "fake" review by Stephen L. Rice at Back to the Mountains.


Elaine Lyons Bach has a page at http://shoutlife.com/gentlejourney.


Information Gentle Journey, including an audio excerpt, a written sample, and links for buying the book (including email download copy) are here.


Book Details:

Gentle Journey
Elaine Lyons Bach
Fiction Romance
Outskirts Press (February 9, 2007) 248 pgs
ISBN: 978-1598009040

4 comments:

cathikin said...

I'm not big on romances as a rule, even though I'm a female. But, like you, this one was a happy surprise to me. That's one reason I have decided that I just like good books, whatever genre. I agree about the characters; hers are definitely three-dimensional.
Nice review.

Cecelia Dowdy said...

Sounds like a good read. I'll need to keep it in mind.

Larua Davis said...

David, I'm glad you enjoyed the book, even if it was a romance! I thought it was a delightful book and I look forward to hearing more from Elaine.

David said...

Although I'm not a romance fan, I do like stories that deal with life in a full-bodied manner. GENTLE JOURNEY, by Elaine Lyons Bach was just such a book. She even through it a little action and suspense for us hormonally challenged readers ;-)

Tangerine

Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith



This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?



The book link: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0800730429


Marilynn's website link: http://marilynngriffith.typepad.com/rhythmsofgrace/

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.

Title

Author

Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond

Entombed

No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

CHO 9

CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21

CHO 4

CHO 34

CHO 2

CHO 2

CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31

2.25

2.43

2.43

2.28

1.83

1.71

1.3

1.08

1.00

1.00

.94

.94

.91

.82

.72