Sunday, September 07, 2008

COME TO ME, by Laura Davis


Hey! This is a mystery writers blog! What's a historical fiction about the life of Jesus doing here? Glad you asked. Every so often a book comes along that reaches in and touches your heart. COME TO ME, by Laura Davis is such a book. If I'd written it I'm sure I would have done several things different, but the thing is, I wasn't called to write a book like this. Seeing it in print wishes that God would call me to write something like this.

The story is about Jesus, but it isn't from the perspective of one of the apostles. Instead it is from the perspective of one much closer to Him, His mother. When we read the Bible we see Mary coming up here and there, but Laura Davis has gone to the trouble of tying all this together in an amazing narrative in which Mary, in different stages of her life, recalls the life of our Lord. It is tender, refreshing and touching. It doesn't gloss over the hard things, but helps to connect some of the historical points that have been left untouched. We get to meet Mary before Jesus is born and realize all that she had to go through. We see Jesus as a young boy, a young man, and finally as a rabbi who taught from town to town, hillside to hillside, house to house, teaching, healing and giving comfort wherever He could. And we have accounts of His death and resurrection. Yet you would expect all of that when telling the story of Jesus. It is the way she does it that is so startling and touching.

I believe this book should be in the home of every Christian, and they should share it with as many non-Christians as possible. It speaks to us in places in our hearts that we may have forgotten about. It speaks to us of a Jesus who was real, a mother who loved Him more than His disciples could know, and how we, who have become His children, are His living legacy. I love this book.

David Brollier

PS. Paul talks about the plan of salvation for the Gentiles as being a mystery that was made known after His resurrection, so I guess you could say this is a "mystery solved".


Check out these member blogs Sept. 7-13 for more info.

SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday






And whatever you do, visit Laura Davis' site at:






Then of course you'll want to buy the book. You can find it for sale at:


2 comments:

Laura Davis said...

David, I'm speechless! Thank you for such a wonderful review.

Laura

David said...

I'm glad you liked the review, Laura. It was well-deserved. We can talk about all those wannabee books out there, or all the millions of problems there are in this world, or we can focus our attention on Jesus. Your book did this in a unique and delightful way. Thank you for being faithful to the Lord and writing it, and thank you for the opportunity to read and review it. It was truly an honor.

Tangerine

Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith



This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?



The book link: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0800730429


Marilynn's website link: http://marilynngriffith.typepad.com/rhythmsofgrace/

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.

Title

Author

Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond

Entombed

No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

CHO 9

CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21

CHO 4

CHO 34

CHO 2

CHO 2

CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31

2.25

2.43

2.43

2.28

1.83

1.71

1.3

1.08

1.00

1.00

.94

.94

.91

.82

.72