Sunday, February 01, 2009

VENGEANCE, by Donna Dawson

It's time for VENGEANCE, no not the action, the book by Donna Dawson. All this week CFRB will be touring this book. Today I'd like to set the stage for you. Imagine a boy who watches his father die slowly of a terrible sickness. Imagine thirty years later an FBI agent on his first vacation in a long time. Imagine this vacation is in part a cruise to and from his destination of Hawaii. Now imagine that the little boy who has grown up decides to avenge himself of his father's death. Let's take this a step further, the people he wants to have revenge on just happen to be aboard the same ship as our FBI agent. Who writes like this? Donna Dawson does. She tantalizes you with a couple small chapters to set the stage, then goes to the agent's vacation cruise and launches you into a world of suspense, intregue and so many other things I'm surprised she managed it at all. Tom Clancy was once asked what is the difference between fiction and real life. He said, "Fiction has to make sense." Now as much as I admire Clancy I'd have to say Dawson comes as close to not making a lot of sense because there are so many things all going on all at once, just like real life. Yet this is fiction...or is it? Perhaps there's a story out there that she got her teeth into and decided to fictionalize it, but however she did it, she did it with gusto.

I hope she won't get mad at me for a couple mild spoilers in that paragraph, but you just have to understand the complexity of this story, and I haven't even mentioned Dr. Holding or Cassandra yet. This is a totally different story running along si
de the main story. In fact, when you begin to break things down you find that there is the boy's story, the agent's story (in about 2 or 3 different trails), Cassandra's story, Dr. Julia Holding's story, Special Agent in Charge St. Kitt's story, and more. More meaning, Tip and Nam and a few others you'll meet along the way. These are people who have their own reason for being between the covers of this book and they don't always coincide with the others. Some have nothing to do with any of the others, and yet Donna Dawson makes it all seem so natural, so real, so incredibly normal...even if it is abnormally complex. When you read VENGEANCE you are going to be submerged into a world that will stimulate all your senses.

After reading a lot of fantasy and science fiction of late it felt good to get back to the mystery/suspense genre, especially when it was done so well. Check out the following CFRB places. Chances are you'll find out more than I'm giving you here.

Now that you have all those links, some of which may not have current information, but you'll enjoy them just the same, it's time to get out some important information.

First I bet you'd like to visit Donna's site. You can find that HERE

To purchase her book you can go to:


Barnes & Noble

or Target


authordonna said...

David, you didn't make me mad at all! I don't know how you could say so much without telling the story. What an excellent review!

David said...

I know some authors are sensative about letting too much of the cat out of the bag, but when you write a review it's a little difficult not to tell something of the story. I really knew you wouldn't be mad, but it drew people's attention, and that was the point.


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31