Friday, July 10, 2009

CFRB Tours Stephanie Reed

The Christian Fiction Review Blog is touring Stephanie Reed's books, ACROSS THE WIDE RIVER and THE LIGHT ACROSS THE RIVER. Although I have both books I've only read the one, the 2nd as it turns out. When I finish the other book I'll put up a review of that book, but for now can only speak about THE LIGHT ACROSS THE RIVER.

I read these in reverse order because of a communication mix-up on my end. However, I did read both books. I was able to get ACROSS THE WIDE RIVER finished in time to put up a post before my post for THE LIGHT ACROSS THE RIVER (a title that would have been suitable for both books).

In any event ACROSS THE WIDE RIVER follows the eldest of the Rankin boys, Adam Lowery Rankin, better known as Lowery, through his social and spiritual growth. There are places that I think Reed rushed things a bit. She seemed desperate to get the story out and in doing so I feel forgot to tell us some of the story. Having said that, it is a moving story of one young boy who, during a crucial time in American history, has to come to grips with his own feelings about slavery and whether or not God has called him into the ministry. The wavering back and forth I felt was realistic because I do it myself. Some of the more potent parts of the story are going to spring up at the most unexpected times, so brace yourself for a good read.

The Ohio River cuts a wide swath between Ohio and Kentucky, but there's a much bigger gulf that separates the sinner from God. There is, in fact, only One way across this river. Those of us on the free side are to help those running from the bondages and those that would drag them back into bondage. Sometimes we need to come face to face with these "slave hunters" in order to appreciate the Love of Jesus and be useful to Him. So pray up, saddle up, light your candle, and wait to help the next refuge to safety. "By this shall all men know you are my disciples, that you love one another."

Be sure to check out Stephanie's site here.

You can purchase ACROSS THE WIDE RIVER at:

Christian Books



And Yahoo.

Check out these other member blogs this week for more info.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31