Sunday, September 06, 2009

MOHAMED'S MOON, by Keith Clemons

This month the Christian Fiction Review Blog tours Mohamed's Moon, by Keith Clemons. I have a personal reason for loving this story, which I will share with you in a bit. As a summary I might write something like; Two religions, two brothers, two nations, one love. Mohamed's Moon is a suspense novel about the clash between two different ways of thinking, and what happens to one man who finds himself in this deadly clash. Mohamed doesn't know he has a brother, but then neither does Matthew. Interestingly enough they are both in love with the same woman. The story begins in Egypt and ends in the United States. Clemons has not gone out to paint all Muslims as evil, even if they are in some way or another linked to what we would call terrorism. He also does not pull punches when talking about Christians who make the mistake of putting themselves first, or not loving their enemies. The characters are realistic, the plot very believable, the danger we face, almost prophet, and the refuge we can have Scriptural. With my old tired eyes I was able to read through this twice before posting and will probably read it again. This is one of those books that deserves to be read again and again. You can do so with Mohamed's Moon and not be disappointed. The action at times is fast, other times it slows down just enough so you can catch your breath. Even then you find yourself bracing for the next downward lurch or speeding turn, because just as surely as someone in a roller coast may rest on the ride up the steep tracks, knowing that beyond lies downward plunges with twists and turns all at a breakneck speed, so also does the reader of Mohamed's Moon realize that any rest along the way is only a temporary reprieve. This is a must read book for more than one reason. Keith Clemons handles the story with brilliance, his characters with clarity and the subject matter with care. This is not just a page turner, but a page turner that has depth.

OK, now my personal reason for loving this particular story. In 2003 during prayer, God revealed to me that He was going to pour out His wrath upon the Islamic nations, but not to kill them off and destroy them so much as drive them back to Him. You may be wondering how I can entertain such a thought. Well, what if I told you that the Seven Thunders spoken of in the Book of Revelation were these plagues? They will be severe and many will die, but the intent is not to kill them off, but drive them from Allah to the True and Living God. The Arab people are the offspring of Abraham by Ishmael. Didn't God promise to bless Abraham's seed? Didn't the household of Abraham follow after this one God, even Ishmael? So God, who is the embodiment of love, seeks to bring ALL His children back to Himself. This includes not just those who call themselves Christians, nor does it only include those born of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. It also includes those born of Ishmael and of Esau. These too are His children. So the way Keith Clemons handled this topic in Mohamed's Moon did something I am unable to do, provide a story about these people and God's love for them. I hope you read it and enjoy it and pray for those caught in the web of Islam.

For more information on KeithClemons and his writings go HERE

You can find Mohamed's Moon on sale at:
Barnes & Noble
Christian Book
Check out these other member blogs this week for
more info:

To return to the CFRB Home page click on the banner at the top of the page.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31