Monday, November 16, 2009

TOUCHED BY A VAMPIRE, by Beth Felker Jones

This isn't what I expected. To be absolutely truthful I've been on the lookout for a really good novel that is deals with vampires in such a way as to teach the truth of the Gospel. Without going into all of that, however, let me get into this review. As I stated, this isn't what I expected. I expected a novel, not an expose of the works by Stephanie Meyer. Yet, since I had committed myself to writing a review I read the book so I could at least give the author a fair shot. Receiving a book and not doing a review in my opinion is stealing. So here I was with this piece of non-fiction and an obligation to both read and write a review. Not a good place to start. Beth caught me right from the start, however, with her clear, precise and humble take on the Twilight saga. Her writing was crisp, for the most part, and gentle. Not once did she say these works were "of the devil", which would have scored low with me. I went through that with the Christian rock bands of the 70s. People have to stop being religious and start being Christian, and that is exactly the way Beth Felker Jones handled this work, as a Christian. Without a desire to put down another author she felt the need to toss up several red flags and caution people, parents in particular, about the many errors found in Ms. Meyer's saga.

Lessons to be learned. I have never read any of the Twilight saga, but feel that TOUCHED BY A VAMPIRE was fair in its treatment non-the-less. While it is all too familiar for a girl, or any high schooler, to feel ordinary, and therefore less than ordinary, we must see ourselves as God sees us, His creation. Would God have become a man and died for you if you were not special to Him? Of course not, and this is one of the key points in the book. We forget about the way God sees us, especially if we are Christians, and look to others for acceptance. That usually ends up blowing up in our face. For Bella it meant "falling in love" with a vampire to the extent that she gave up everything, including her soul, to become a vampire and live forever with her beloved Edward. Now, aside from the fact that Edward is not going to live forever, but must one day face judgment by the very God who now offers mercy, should give us pause. Although Meyer's vampires, as most vampires in novels, live to be centuries old, this does not mean they live forever. They do have an end. Their life is marked along a time line of past/present/future, just as yours and mine are. God, on the other hand, is eternal. He has no beginning, no end. He is not confined to a timeline, but in fact created the timeline for us. So if we trade God's love for the love of anyone else, even a vampire with extraordinary powers and long life, we are condemning ourselves to a fate that was reserved for the devil and his angels.

That is the overview. Beth Felker Jones goes further to show how such a love actually damages a person's day to day life. Probably my favorite section is where she lists symptoms of an abusive relationship and shows us how both Bella and Edward fit that profile. Moms, Dads, is this what you want for your little girl? Do you want her to grow up making wrong choices and ending up in abusive relationships? Spousal abuse is on the rise and Jones tells us why, we have no understanding of what real love is. We are told what love is supposed to be by movies, music, comercials, TV shows, and so on, but those people acting and writing those things haven't a clue as to what love is either, and yet they go on teaching others about how romantic love is an end in itself. I was reading her book and thought of something comediane Chanda Pierce said. "Here's this pretty young woman, doing all the cooking, cleaning and everything else for these seven dwarves, and she's singing. That's sick." She's right. That is sick. Find me a woman who joyfully picks up her husband's dirty laundry and cleans it, while simultaneously cooking meals, vaccuming the floor and changing diapers, and you've either found an extremely wonderful woman, or she's plain demented. Love is not about feelings. Oh sure we like the feelings that many times come with love, especially those first few years. True love is a commitment to someone other than themselves. Jesus spread out His arms and died on the cross because He loves you and He loves me. Why? There's absolutely no reason for Him to love us. Yet He chose to love us. That's the miracle. That's what true love is. That's what we should be teaching our children.

I give TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL, by Beth Felker Jones 4.75 stars, and that's only because it's a work of non-fiction. Had this been a work of fiction I would easily give it 5 stars. I have already given this book to 2 other people, one of them my pastor, because I felt it was just that good. So get your copy today. This is especially true if you have a young person in your home who has been intrigued by the Twilight saga. Use this book and Twilight to get them into the truth of God's Word and find His love. For that romance is never ending. Teach your children to become the bride the King of kings is coming for at the end of the age (which may be sooner than you think).

Although I was unable to find a website for Beth Felker Jones you can find her book on sale at the following websites.
Random House

This site receives books, free from the author, for review and tour. This in no way takes away from the excellence found in these works. There are times when this site will promote a book even though the site owner has not read it. In this case there will be no review, nor will we have received a copy for a review. If we receive a copy from the author/publisher we will write and post our review.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31