Sunday, October 15, 2006

PCFW 10/14 Brunch and Book Signing

We had a bit of a struggle getting out on the road and I left my Google map directions on the table, but we were able to get to our destination safely and even enjoy some time with my daughter in Bloomsburg, PA before going all the way down to Chester, PA. Everyone we met was great. The following moring I asked for directions to Springfield, PA and they were really helpful.

We got to Denny's about a half hour early and should have passed the book store but we didn't see it. So I decided to ask one of the restaurant patrons as he was leaving. He was so nice and said that his wife would know. Yes, his wife did know (she was as sweet and kind as he was), but it seems all the old landmarks had changed and she was having difficulty explaining it to us, even though it was just over a block away. So he said he could drive my wife and I up there to see where it was, then drive us back. We took him up on the offer and it was, just up on the right past the light. (It was on our left when we came to Denny's). After he pointed it out to us they drove us back, we thanked them. It meant so much to be helped out like that. We invited them to the book signing, but didn't see them.

Originally there were supposed to be 9 of us, but one of the woman took sick and had to cancel so I signed up for a table of 8. Then Terri showed up with a friend (hey Cathy) who wasn't on the original list and we were back up to 9. We had a great time. Going by just first names there were Gary, Corey, Terri, Tiff (Amber), Carrie, Cathy, Barb (my wife) and myself. Mindy was at the book signing, but not at the brunch. The only published authors were Carrie, Mindy, Cathy and myself. The others have things in the works and it was great to hear of all the different directions Christian fiction was taking us. They were a great encouragement to me and I hope I was an encouragement to them as well.
I sold ONE book, praise the Lord, but I also traded copies with Carrie, Mindy and Cathy. Here are some highlights.

Kiss the Bride Cook, by Carrie Turansky is a collection of 4 romances about romance after marriage. I got that one for my wife.
William Henry is a Fine Name, by Cathy Gohlke is a story of the underground railroad in 1859 and two boys, friends, who must come to terms with the social problems facing them since one is black and the other white.
A Penny for Your Thoughts, by Mindy Starns Clark is the first of "The Million Dollar Mysteries". A choice to investigate a certain business plunges Callie Webber into a series of event where she must choose to depend on her own wits or the mercy of God.

Okay, I haven't read these yet, but knowing the author I can only guess wonderful things. I'll keep you posted. If I can get my wife to help me I'll try to do a review of each before the end of the new year. In any events these are no longer names at the end of an email, not even fellow writers and authors (and here I include Terri, Tiff, Gary and Corey as well, but friends, dear friends. I'll say right off it may be difficult to do an objective review because I know these wonderful people. Then again I tend to lean hardest on those I believe have greater talent.

And if you are ever in Springfield, PA (just west of Philly on 154 Baltimore Pike) you have to visit The Vine Christian Shoppe. This is truly an amazing place run by amazing people. In all the secular places where I've had book signings I have not been treated as royally as I have here. The love of Jesus shines through these people and the community around them knows it too. Pray that God would support them so that they might remain as His light in that community.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31