Thursday, May 10, 2007


Day 6 Friday

Mary's Profile on her blog reads: “Mary Connealy has three books in bookstores now or coming soon from Barbour Publishing. Mary, is married to Ivan a farmer, and she is the mother of four beautiful daughters, Joslyn, Wendy, Shelly and Katy. You can find Mary on the internet like a middle-aged, female Where's Waldo at! Mary is a GED Instructor by day and an author by night. And so she can remember what she's doing, she likes to wear a little crown and a Wonder Woman cape while she types.”

From contacts with her as one of CFRB's members I can tell you that while she has an amazing ability to laugh at hardships, she takes her writing very seriously. She writes, what I guess you could call, “serious humor”. That's humor that gets her through the rough places. And as Clay McClellan would say, “She's a God-fearin' woman.' In fact, I wonder just how much like Sophie she is herself. I strongly suspect she is very much like that strong woman who took to raising four daughters by herself after her husband was murdered (that's Sophie, her girls and her husband. Mary's husband and girls are doing just fine from what I understand).

English teachers and others are always telling us to write about what we know, so I'm fairly certain that her daughters also played a role in patterning Sophie's daughters after. The fact that she happens to have the same number of girls as her heroine tells me something about that. I don't know about Mary's husband, but I think Ivan must have added some wit and wisdom by his very presence. To say that he is Clay may be overstating things, but I think Mary was able to more clearly depict some of the problems a man and a woman have, especially when they are falling in love because of some of the experiences she's had with her own husband. I'm just guessing, but I'll tell you this, PETTICOAT RANCH is chock full of characters that come to life.

Don't miss tomorrow's post. I saved the best for last. Tomorrow we'll be having an interview with Mary Connealy. I think you'll enjoy it. I think I'm getting better at this. I hope you guys are too. See, there are times when we'll need to pull together, times when I'll need someone to fill in for me. I'm sure they're times when Jackie, Cynthia, Karina and the rest could use a break. Think about ministering to Christ by being able to say, “Hey, brother, (or sister), why don't you let me do that for you this week so you can get some writing done. I know how busy you've been and really appreciate all that you've done for us.” Jesus teaches us that when we do things like that we're actually doing it for Him. It's like Jesus was standing there and you had the privilege of helping Him. See you all tomorrow. God bless.

Featured at Amazon.Com

Don't miss her site at Real Life Petticoat Ranch

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31