Tuesday, January 05, 2010


Each new author we at CFRB read has a style all their own. I personally like some better than others, basically because I like mysteries (I include SF, fantasy and even horror in this category). Generally it's hard for me to get into a romance, but that's just a personal thing. Another personal thing is I really want to see Jesus shining through the work, whether His name is mentioned or not. In THE WORDSMITH, THE KID, AND THE ELECTROLUX, by Clifford Leigh we have just such a story. It is both mystery and fantasy. It is filled with Scripture, but not in a boring way that many of us have encountered in other works. He weaves the teachings of God smoothly into the story so that you hardly know it's there.

This is an awesome story about a young boy whose attempts at pleasing himself and his own desires lands him in a strange world, via the Electrolux. In that world things aren't always what they seem, and he begins to learn that his way of seeing things needs to change. I've already written 6 posts on the CFRB site and to say more may give the story away, and this is one story I don't want to mess up for you. I urge you to get your hands on it and read it. If you can't buy it see if your local library can get it. Somehow, find it and read it. You'll be happy you did. It's an easy book to read. Don't be surprised to find bits and pieces of yourself in the story. That's the point. None of us is exempt from what our desires do to us. It's not pretty, but take heart, there is Someone who has come to you to change that for you, Someone who loves you very much. His name is Jesus.

Visit Cliff at the author's website and the WKEBlog.

Purchase The Wordsmith, the Kid, and the Electrolux at
Amazon Kindle
Barnes and Noble.

Check out these other member blogs this week for more
info. Oh, and just because there are so few people posting reviews has little to do with the quality of this work, nor does it mean he only gets 3 days worth of tours. Check back again and see if some of these members have several posts throughout the week.

The Christian Fiction Review Blog (known as CFRB) is a ministry that promotes quality Christian fiction in order that the Gospel of Jesus Christ may be shared with others who might hear it in a context that they would appreciate and understand. Each book is "previewed" in order to maintain the quality and content of the book. Books that are accepted for blog tours are given to the members by the author to review, according to the number of members
requesting a copy. It is the belief and practice of CFRB to post positive reviews as a type of payment for these books. However, I want to emphasize again that these books first go through a preview stage where they are deemed of a high enough quality to tour.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com.


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0800730429

Marilynn's website link: http://marilynngriffith.typepad.com/rhythmsofgrace/

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31