Thursday, January 07, 2010


There seem to be mixed feelings about this book, although it is almost always seen positive. Some people feel it is too advanced for a children's book, like myself. Others feel that it is too far out or complex. Others, of course, don't feel it is complex enough. All I can tell you that my trip with Corey in THE WORDSMITH, THE KID, AND THE ELECTROLUX, by Clifford Leigh was a trip I thoroughly enjoyed.

I feel as if I've almost talked myself out on this book, that is without giving away any of the plot. However I thought you might be interested to learn a little about the author. Nothing about Clifford seems to be what we would call "normal". From mixed parentage he was born in New York. His mother had to get special congressional approval to return to the United States with Cliff's older brother who was born in China. Clifford seems to have seen a good chunk of the world as he was being passed around or moving from job to job. Even early on he showed signs of artistic excellence and began to win awards for his skills. He added to this designing, and eventually entered that field, allowing his artistic abilities to have tangible results other than something hung on a wall. If you check out his homepage you will be surprised at some of the places he has designed. Yet all of this might not have been. Cliff was rebellious as a teenager and young man. If it hadn't been for certain key people, one who was discipled under Watchman Nee, he could have ended up anywhere, perhaps even dead. However, God had a plan for this man's life, one that would incorporate the talents and gifts that He had given Cliff.

It is because of this strange and diverse background that I find THE WORDSMITH, THE KID, AND THE ELECTROLUX even more fascinating. Who else could have written such a book? Being an artist the imagery in this book came natural to him. Having a rebellious past helped him formulate Corey and much of the story surrounding him. Returning to God as a prodigal son gave him further insights to wrap up his story with such a finesse and power few Christian books seem to attain. So if you want to understand the author better, click on the link below. Who knows, you may just find something there that helps you understand his writing as well. I kind of hope Cliff follows this up and tries to get this made into an animated film. It would be super. As one reviewer state, "it's no Lord of the Rings", but then again he didn't set out to be another Tolkien. He just became a very, very good storyteller.

Visit Cliff at the author's website and the WKEBlog.

Purchase The Wordsmith, the Kid, and the Electrolux at
Amazon Kindle
Barnes and Noble.

Check out these other member blogs this week for more
info. Oh, and just because there are so few people posting reviews has little to do with the quality of this work, nor does it mean he only gets 3 days worth of tours. Check back again and see if some of these members have several posts throughout the week.

The Christian Fiction Review Blog (known as CFRB) is a ministry that promotes quality Christian fiction in order that the Gospel of Jesus Christ may be shared with others who might hear it in a context that they would appreciate and understand. Each book is "previewed" in order to maintain the quality and content of the book. Books that are accepted for blog tours are given to the members by the author to review, according to the number of members
requesting a copy. It is the belief and practice of CFRB to post positive reviews as a type of payment for these books. However, I want to emphasize again that these books first go through a preview stage where they are deemed of a high enough quality to tour.

No comments:


Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email:


Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

The book link:

Marilynn's website link:

THE 3RD COVENANT - a Comparison

The following table shows where THE 3RD COVENANT stands against 7 top authors and 14 other books.



Times out

times per month

Judge and Jury

Cold Moon

Death Dance

Promise Me

The 3rd Covenant

The Camel Club

Violet Dawn

3rd Degree

The Collectors

Web of Lies

The 12th Card

Words of Silk

Above and Beyond


No Second Chance

James Patterson

Jeffery Deaver

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben

David Brollier

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

James Patterson

David Baldacci

Brandilyn Collins

Jeffery Deaver

Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown

Linda Fairstein

Harlan Coben


CHO 17

CHO 17

CHO 16

CHO 11

CHO 21


CHO 34



CHO 17

CHO 29

CHO 30

CHO 19

CHO 31